WASHINGTON (May 10, 2021)—This year, we’ve read a lot about the benefits and challenges of planting trees and restoring ecosystems. And that means more and more people are asking important questions about regenerating land and forests, especially as the UN Decade on Ecosystem Restoration begins on World Environment Day, June 5.

What does it really mean to restore an ecosystem, and what does it take? What are the benefits for people, biodiversity and the climate? What makes a project succeed or fail? Who are the entrepreneurs, project leaders and governments taking it seriously? How are people proving their impact, and where are the world’s trees growing? How can we restore 350 million hectares by 2030?

On May 26 at 9:00 EDT / 15:00 CET / 19:30 IST, journalists are invited to join a media briefing hosted by World Resources Institute’s Global Restoration Initiative.

WRI experts around the world will outline the major themes, challenges and opportunities in ecosystem restoration to inform media stories on the UN Decade, tree planting or any type of land restoration. The Global Restoration Initiative works with communities and leaders in 50 countries to inform, enable and invest in restoration of the world’s degraded land.

During the press call, speakers will discuss and take questions on what the UN Decade should achieve and how to do it; progress on restoring 100 million hectares of Africa's vital landscapes; efforts to protect and restore 50 million hectares of Latin America's ecosystems; the social, economic and environmental impacts of restoring India's land; financing restoration and incubating entrepreneurship in restoration; and more.

Register here: https://wri.zoom.us/webinar/register/WN_7V1C-fRiT0SrhNGJC3g0dw

WHAT

Press call to preview the UN Decade on Ecosystem Restoration

WHEN

Wednesday, May 26 at 9:00 EDT / 15:00 CET / 19:30 IST

WHO

Speakers:

Register here

Questions? Reach out to Mansie Hough (mansie.hough@wri.org).