The assessment of reef dependence is based on reef-associated population, reef fisheries employment, nutritional dependence on fish and seafood, reef-associated export value, reef tourism, and shoreline protection from reefs. Eighty-one countries, 21 island territories, and six subnational regions (Florida, Hawaii, Hong Kong SAR, Peninsular Malaysia, Sabah, and Sarawak) were assessed, and are categorized according to quartiles (low, medium, high, and very high). Reef territories that are only inhabited by military or scientific personnel are not included.