The Caribbean region, as defined by this analysis, encompasses 35 countries and territories bordering the Gulf of Mexico and Caribbean sea, including the oceanic island of Bermuda.

Map sources

Maritime boundaries: Derived at WRI using data from the Global Maritime Boundaries Database (Veridian - MRJ Technology Solutions, 2002). Reef locations: See Appendix B. Bathymetry: Developed at WRI from depth point data from the Danish Hydrologic Institute’s (DHI) C-MAP data product, interpolated at 1-km resolution.