The University Network for Strengthening Macrofinancial Resilience to Climate and Environmental Change (‘the Network’) is being launched to promote multi-disciplinary academic teaching and research in areas important for strengthening macrofinancial resilience to climate change. The University Network is a key part of the Resilience Adaptation Mainstreaming Program (RAMP), which seeks to improve the capacity of ministries of finance, planning and economics in developing and climate-vulnerable countries to better align economic development with climate change risks and scale investments in adaptation action.

RAMP’s supporting secretariat is hosted by World Resources Institute and includes representatives from the World Bank, IMF, UNDP, Environment for Development, and NDC Partnership, among other institutions. The Network itself is managed by a secretariat hosted by the Centre for Sustainable Finance at SOAS, University of London and consists of global universities to carry out relevant high-quality teaching and research and act as a strategic and knowledge partner of major international organizations working in this field.

The Network will support universities in climate-vulnerable countries in offering high-quality graduate-level teaching and professional training to enable future and current leaders to address climate-related macrofinancial risks and vulnerabilities that threaten public finances, financial and macroeconomic stability, and economic development. The Network will also mobilize financial resources to support member universities in developing their administrative and academic capabilities, including small grants to fund collaborative research and facilitate international research visits. The following institutions are founding members of the Network:

  • University of the West Indies, Jamaica and other Caribbean islands
  • University of Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
  • University of Ghana, Ghana
  • University of Nairobi, Kenya
  • University of Economics HCMC, Vietnam
  • Makerere University, Uganda
  • International Centre for Climate Change and Development / Independent University, Bangladesh
  • Public and Third Sector Academy for Sustainable Finance, University of Oxford, UK
  • SOAS, University of London, UK


  • Dean Rachel Kyte, Tufts University
  • Professor Ulrich Volz, SOAS, University of London
  • Dr Harald Heubaum, SOAS, University of London
  • Dr Nisha Krishnan, WRI

Other professors and vice-chancellors of our member universities to be confirmed