World Resource Institute


The Global Commission on Adaptation is led by Ban Ki-moon, Kristalina Georgieva and Bill Gates, and co-managed by WRI and the Global Center on Adaptation. It is comprised of more than 30 Commissioners and 20 convening countries. They include:

Ban Ki-moon, 8th Secretary-General of the United Nations
Bill Gates, Co-chair of the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation
Kristalina Georgieva, CEO, World Bank
Akinwumi Adesina, President, African Development Bank
Inger Andersen, Executive Director, United Nations Environment Programme
Michelle Bachelet, United Nations High Commissioner for Human Rights
Winnie Byanyima, Executive Director, Oxfam International
Peter Damgaard Jensen, CEO, PKA Ltd.
Patricia Espinosa, Executive Secretary, United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change
Christiana Figueres, Former Executive Secretary, United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change & Founding Partner, Global Optimism
Li Ganjie, Minister of Ecology and Environment, China
Hilda Heine, President, Marshall Islands
Anne Hidalgo, Mayor, Paris
Emma Howard Boyd, Chair of the Environment Agency, United Kingdom
Naoko Ishii, CEO and Chairperson, Global Environment Facility
Agnes Kalibata, President, Alliance for a Green Revolution in Africa
Loren Legarda, Deputy Speaker and Antique Congresswoman, Philippines
Strive Masiyiwa, Founder and Executive Chairman, Econet Wireless
Catherine McKenna, Minister of Environment and Climate Change, Canada
José Antonio Meade, Former Finance Minister, Mexico
C.K. Mishra, Secretary, Ministry of Environment, Forests and Climate Change, India
Keith Mitchell, Prime Minister, Grenada
Gerd Müller, Federal Minister of Economic Cooperation and Development, Germany
Muhammad Musa, Executive Director, BRAC International
Cora van Nieuwenhuizen, Minister of Infrastructure and Water Management, Netherlands
Sheela Patel, Chair, Shack/Slum Dwellers International
Aiyaz Sayed-Khaiyum, Attorney General and Minister for Economy, Public Enterprises, Civil Service and Communications, Fiji
Feike Sijbesma, CEO and Chairman, Royal DSM
Andrew Steer, President and CEO, World Resources Institute
Achim Steiner, Administrator, United Nations Development Programme
Francis Suarez, Mayor, Miami
Elhadj As Sy, Secretary General, International Federation of Red Cross and Red Crescent Societies
Petteri Taalas, Secretary-General, World Meteorological Organization
Shemara Wikramanayake, CEO, Macquarie Group Ltd.