You are here

José Sarukhán Awarded the IUCN John C. Phillips Memorial Medal

We extend our congratulations to José Sarukhán---WRI board nember and professor of ecology---on being awarded the John C Phillips Memorial Medal at this year's IUCN World Conservation Congress in Barcelona. The Phillips medal is IUCN's highest award, given each year in memory of conservation pioneer John C. Phillips, to recognize outstanding service in international conservation. Former recipients of this medal include Indira Gandhi, Professor E. O. Wilson and Dr Luc Hoffmann.

In addition, Dr. Robert Goodland was the first-ever recipient of the Harold Jefferson Coolidge Memorial Medal for outstanding contributions to conservation of nature and natural resources.

Again, congratulations to both Drs. Sarukhán and Goodland on their achievements.

Stay Connected